Gary Tunstall

Gary Tunstall – Curriculum Vitae


This is a copy of my CV, it has been saved from a word document so the formatting isn't quite right.
I have also removed my Address's, phone number and references.  For a full copy of my CV please email me.


Personal details


Name: Gary Tunstall

Home Address:                        Term Address:

Not on the Web.

Phone:    Not on the Web.

Email:            Removed for spam reasons

DOB:            14/05/81


Personal Statement


In July 2003 I will graduate from the University of York with an expected first class masters degree in Computer Systems and Software Engineering. The Computer Science department at York is one of the best in the country.  My course has enabled me to develop both technical and personal skills.  I have had to manage my time to fit together my projects, course modules, and through group projects my degree has allowed me to expand my team working abilities.

I have been working during the holidays for an Internet firm - Proweb.  This has allowed me to experience a wide range of work related skills and enabled me to explore many areas of interest.  I have used my initiative when dealing with numerous projects, but always prepared to incorporate the suggestions and criticisms of others.  This experience has focused my interest within the software engineering and computer systems industry.

My intention on graduation is to pursue a career where I have the opportunity to further develop my personal character and technical skills, with an organisation that is challenging and seeks innovation.




University of York – 1999-2003

Expected:                     MEng               First class

Third year project:            Localisation using dynamic Bayesian networks and Kalman filtering

Fourth year project:            Automated reduction of file space


High Pavement 6th Form College – 1997-1999

A levels:                       Computer Science            A

                                    Physics             A

                                    Maths                           A

AS levels:                     Electronics                  A

                                    Further Maths               B

GCSEs:                        Electronics                  A*


Hucknall National School – 1992-1997

GCSEs: Maths A, Double Science A*, A*, Geography A*, Information Systems A, Technology B, English Language B, English Literature B, French D


Work experience


Proweb (UK) Ltd – 1999-Present (Summer, Easter and Christmas)

Programmer / Technical support / Systems Administrator


I have worked at Proweb during all my university breaks.  It is a small company (about 8 employees) which provides a complete network / software service.  Although my primary role is as programmer, I also do many other Systems Administration tasks and customer projects.  I find the job interesting and highly rewarding.





            I have always had an interest in technology and how it works, but it wasn’t until I went to 6th form college that I was first shown how to write a program.  The fact that I could write things that other people used fascinated me.  It is why I chose a computer science degree and why I jumped at the chance of having a part time job programming.  Through my work at Proweb I have written systems that others now use daily; this is very satisfying.



            When I was younger I was in the scouts. I progressed though beavers, cubs and scouts, becoming a Patrol Leader in my last two years.  I found it good for team building as well as an individual challenge.  My final achievement was to successfully complete the Chief Scout’s Challenge.



            I have built a hi-fi separates system, which I continue to improve when I get the available funds.  My tastes in music are varied.


Vintage Tractors

            Along with my Dad I restore vintage tractors and show them.  My Dad mainly does the mechanical side of things and I focus on the electrical side.  We then show them at rallies and at least once a year go ploughing.  This is a relaxing hobby and allows me to get away from modern technology, but at the same time keep my mind active.




Drivers licence:            I have held a driver’s licence since my 18th Birthday.

Computing:                 Experience using Windows, Linux and FreeBSD.

Programming:            C, Visual Basic (including ASP) and Pascal.  Some Ada 95.




Not on the Web.


About me